2008-09 Round 8

Christmas Classic presented by Village Popcorn - Vista Rio Rancho Raceway

Round 8 of 16

December 18, 2008

Race Information

Rotter Takes Christmas Classic

Larry Rotter held off Husarsbilt Cup championship points leader Mark Walczak at Vista Rio Rancho Raceway in Wauwatosa in the Christmas Classic presented bt Village Popcorn. Rotters impressive victory also moved him to second place in the championship and began to show the kind of "Rotter-tude" which led him to 3 championships. Rookie John "White Bread" "Mayor of Hubertis" Wiedemann scored his first career podium after polesitter Dan Margetta pulled a Margetta and made the final only to throw the car off the track and end his night early. Meanwhile, Tom Spehert was back in form with a solid fith place ahead of rookie Mike Lack and Amy Butler. Mike Fitzlaff, John Shea, Chris Spehert and hometown favorite Mike Kristof all crashed out early and spectacularly on the dangerous V-Triple R turns. The series takes the holidays off and returns to action at Larry Rotter's home track, Raven Raceway for the Quizno's 250 on Thursday, January 8th.


Christmas Classic Presented by Village Popcorn

WHAT: Christmas Classic Presented by Village Popcorn

WHERE: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, Vista Rio Rancho Raceway

WHEN: Thursday, December 18th 2008


2007 CHAMPION: Ev Kamikawa

2007 POLESITTER: Larry Rotter

TRACK LAYOUT: Desert road course

RACE LENGTH: 20 minutes

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying – 2008, Dan Margetta 58.406; Race – 2008, Larry Rotter, 207 Laps; Fast Lap – 2008, Dan Margetta 4.781

RACE ROUND: 8 of 16 in the 2008-2009 HO Champ Car World Series

Christmas Classic (14 events, 1994 - Present)

Year Race Winner Track

1994 Pat Jarvis Shrine Desert Road Course

1995 Jim Kaehny

1996 John Shea

1997 Rick Osterbrink Sanibel Speedway

1998 Chad Sorce

1999 Ev Kamikawa

2000 Ev Kamikawa

2001 Ev Kamikawa

2002 Larry Rotter

2003 Larry Rotter

2004 Jim Iverson

2005 Jim Iverson Vista Rio Rancho Raceway

2006 John Shea

2007 Ev Kamikawa

2008 Larry Rotter Vista Rio Rancho Raceway (reconfigured)