Top Stories - Latest Race Broadcast - Schedule

Rist Beats Champ For First Career IndySlotCar Win

West Bend, WI – As with most motorsports series this season, the IndySlotCar season had to deal with schedule changes. The Halloween Havoc, normally contested

at Quarry Heights Raceway, was moved to the Lack Track, the site of the last event, two weeks ago. And whether it was the familiarity of the course or the spirits of Halloween,

the action on the track was the most intense it has been this season so far.

Through all of that, Steve Rist rose to the top to capture his first victory in the IndySlotCar Series at the track that he made his series debut.

Mike Lack, hometown hero and wins leader at the track, topped qualifying with a track record setting run of 3.7 seconds. Rist took the outside of the front row followed by

John Wiedemann and Bill Black, all under the four second barrier.

After heats were set by drivers choice last to first, the first heat featured the top three drivers in the point standings, Dean Strom and Super High Intensity Team,

teammates Lack and Matt Hayek vs Ev Kamikawa. Hayek and Lack quickly pulled away from the other two to decide the race between themselves.

While Hayek led by two laps at the halfway point, Lack came back and challenged him in the second half. When the checkers flew, Hayek had

taken the win with Lack less than a half lap behind. Current point leader Strom finished 3rd in the heat and 8th in the final standings.

The second heat also tightened up at the end. Wiedemann took a four lap lead over Mike Kristof into the second half. But a difficult lane in

the second half and with Kristof on the charge, Wiedemann was lucky to escape with the victory only a lap ahead of Kristof.

The final heat race featured a tight battle in the first half with Rist and Bill Black on the same lap. Rist got it rolling in the second half

and cruised to victory by six laps. Black gave it all he could but missed the transfer position by two laps to Lack.

The final would quickly look like Lack’s to win as he pulled away from the field. The driver who mentioned to the media that he didn’t think

he had a car to compete streaked to a five lap lead as Wiedemann and Rist battled for second place, trading the position back and forth

during the first half of the race. At the halfway break Wiedemann held the second spot by two laps over Rist with Hayek looking for speed in


After the break, the top three drivers pitted with 10 second pit stops. Rist was on the move though. With a quarter of the race to go, Rist

dispatched Wiedemann to take second and set his sights on leader Lack. Running laps tenths quicker and with Lack struggling with

handling issues, Rist was able to run down the six-time champion, take over the top spot and never look back. Wiedemann charged to try and

catch Lack but wound up a lap short and had to settle for the bottom step of the podium. Rist’s win was the second of the season for the new

Squirrel Shagged Enterprises team.

With the victory, Rist jumps up to fourth in the point standings which are still lead by his teammate Strom, but now just ten points ahead of

Lack and Hayek just two more points back in third. Just four races in and the championship battle is tight.

Up next is another race with a changed venue. The Turtle Grand Prix replaces the Lucky Bob's Challenge on November 5th at Turtle Creek Raceway for Round 5 of

the 2020-21 IndySlotCar season.