2023-24 Round 3

Turtle Grand Prix - Turtle Creek Park Raceway - Menomonee Falls, WI

October 5, 2023

Round 3 of 17

2023 Turtle Grand Prix

Lack Is Back!

Menomonee Falls, WI  -- Mike Lack took advantage of the misfortune of his teammate to score his first win of the season.  It was Lack's FAST teammate John Wiedemann who had the night on a string, starting with qualifying, where he bested the second fastest car on the track by almost a full tenth of second. 

The Last Chance Qualifier was once again necessary to fill the 12 cars that would take part in the three main heat races. For the first time this season, James Spehert would advance to make a heat race, it was veteran Mike Fitzlaff making his first appearance in almost three years that was the odd man out.

In the opening heat, Lack and Wiedemann would go at it, hammer and tongs with Wiedemann pulling out the win, Lack however stacked up an impressive number of laps that would eventually stand up for the transfer spot into the final, while Joe Heitz struggled with power and his Michael Shank-It Racing teammate did all he could just to stay on track, as the MSR pair settled for sixth and eighth respectively for the night.

A resurgent Ev Kamikawa held off to advance to another final four, with Team Spehert's Chris Spehert running to a solid seventh, Steve Rist finally made it to the checkers for the first time this season, but good for just ninth.

In the final heat Pete Dorn was the recipient of a crash by Matt Hayek, as the FAST driver crashed out just 15 laps into the event, looking like he had the measure of his competitors. That left rookie James Spehert and CBD Racing's Brad Core dueling it out for tenth, and the rookie showed speed and control giving James the best result of his young career.

The final looked like it was all Wiedemann and the chance for a pole winner to take checkers, but when the #29 pulled into the pits his FAST pit crew saw trouble, pulling the cowling off the car and discovered that the Honda engine in the Daboiler chassis was cooked and would go no further, a disgusted Wiedemann pulled of his belts and climbed out of the car, while Team PenskeHO's Ev Kamikawa was elevated to second place, his second of the season, with CBD's Pete Dorn moving on to the podium. It was Lack's series record extending 53rd career victory, and jumping from 15th on the season standings to 7th. Meanwhile, Kamikawa would move to the point just a few points ahead of Weidemann as the IndySlotCar Circus moves on to the Halloween Havoc at Quarry Heights Raceway.

Turtle Grand Prix Fast Facts

Race date: Thursday, Oct 5


Track: Turtle Creek Park Raceway, 2.8-mile, 9-turn natural terrain circuit, Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin


Race distance: 20 minutes


Entry List: Turtle Grand Prix

X:  @indyslotcar

IndySlotCar Website: indyslotcar.com

2020 race winner: John Wiedemann (No. 1 Super High Intensity Team Dallara-Honda)

2020 Firestone P1 Award winner: Mike Lack (No. 9 Super High Intensity Team Dallara-Honda)

Qualifying record: Mike Lack (#1 Angry Squirrel Speedsport) 3.338 seconds - 2018


Race record: Ev Kamikawa (#12 PenskeHO Racing) 262 laps - 2018

YouTube Broadcast: IndySlotCar Channel


At-track schedule (all times local):

6:00 – Gates open

6:30 – Driver introductions

6:55 – Drivers meeting/Chassis distribution

7:00 – IndySlotCar Series Practice

7:20 – Qualifying for the Firestone P1 Award (group qualifying/ fastest single lap)

7:45 – Heat races

8:30 – Turtle Grand Prix – 20 minutes


Race Notes:

·         This will be just the third “club car” event held at Turtle Creek Park Raceway the last was held three years ago when hometown hero John Wiedemann took the checkered flag.

·         Dan Margetta finds himself atop the Husarsbilt Cup championship standings after his win at the Fall Brawl and the only driver who has made both finals this season.

·         STATS WATCH: Margetta’s Fall Brawl win is the 48th of his career, second all-time. John Shea became the 18th driver to turn 20,000 laps in his career with his third place finish at Badger. Pete Dorn moves past Dave Austin for 17th in all-time starts with 119 and Steve Rist equals Ned Wicker with 57 starts, tied for 25th. James Spehert’s second start moves him to 45th, same as Brian Miller and Dave Rosno’s totals. Joe Heitz’s DNF at Badger is his 15th, moving ahead of Pete Dorn and Andy Spehert for 21st. Steve Rist’s second consecutive crash out is the 11th of his career, tied for 25th with Jim Iverson.

TURTLE GRAND PRIX HISTORY (2 events, 2018 - Present)


Date               Race Winner       

10/18/2018       Ev Kamikawa      

11/5/2020           John Wiedemann