2017-18 Round 3

West Bend Grand Prix - Lack Track - West Bend, WI

September 21, 2017

Round 3 of 16

2017 West Bend Grand Prix

Dorn In First Final

(West Bend, WI) -- Unlike last season where an unlikely series of events allowed Mike Lack to take his fourth Husarsbilt Cup championship at the final race of the season, this year, the reigning champ is taking a throttle hold on the title race early, scoring his second win of the season at the West Bend Grand Prix at his home, Lack Track. Lack's Angry Squirrel Speedsport teammake John Wiedemann took his second pole position of th season, out-qualifying Lack by eight one-thousandths of a second.

The two would face off twice in the evening, as they were grouped together in the heat races, which Lack would win but JW would hold onto the "transfer" position. Dean Strom led the second heat and was never seriously challenged as he advanced to his first final of the season. It was a historic night for Pete Dorn as the second season driver made his first final four in 32 starts, holding off veteran drivers Ev Kamikawa, who would finish fifth on the night, and Mike Kristof, floundering back in ninth. The rest of the field saw Matt Hayek continue to struggle this season, with a sixth place finish ahead of Tom Spehert, who brought back his old Harley-Davidson livery in this 25th season. The third member of Angry Squirrel Speedsport, Amy Butler made her season debut in eighth, while Bill Black and Mike Fitzlaff could not get a handle on the twisty Lack Track, to finish tenth and eleventh, respectively.

The 20 minute final was destined to be a battle of the A.S.S. teammates, and the race did not disappoint as Lack and Wiedemann would trade the lead through much of the first half, while Dean Strom hung around in third. Ultimately, the hometown hero would take control to take the checkers and his fourth win of the seven West Bend Grand Prixs that have been run. Pete Dorn would finish fourth.


West Bend Grand Prix Fast Facts

Race date: Thursday, Sep 21

Track: Lack Track, 1.8 mile road course in West Bend, WI

Race distance: 20 minutes

Twitter: @indyslotcar

IndySlotCar Website: indyslotcar.com

2016 race winner: John Wiedemann, (No. 19 JAM Racing Dallara-Honda)

2016 Chick-fil-A Brookfield P1 Award winner: John Wiedemann (No. 19 JAM Racing Dallara-Honda)

One-lap qualifying record: John Wiedemann, 3.971 seconds, 2013

Race record: John Wiedemann, 250 laps, 2016

YouTube Broadcast: IndySlotCar Channel

At-track schedule (all times local):

6:30 – Driver introductions

7:00 – IndySlotCar Series Practice

7:15 – Qualifying for the Chick-fil-A Brookfield P1 Award (group qualifying/ fastest single lap)

7:30 – Heat races

8:00 – West Bend Grand Prix (20 minutes)

Race Notes:

· Two of the three members of Angry Squirrel Speedsport have scored wins in the opening two rounds of the 2017-18 season, with Mike Lack and John Wiedemann taking the Trokan Cup 500 and the Deckertring Grand Prix respectively.

· West Bend Grand Prix has been run six times and Angry Squirrel Speedsport have won it the last five times, including hometown favorite Lack with three and Wiedemann twice, including last year.

· Wiedemann set a new race record last season, completing 250 laps in the 20 minute final.

· Strong rumors have the third member of A.S.S. making her first appearance of the season, with Amy Butler expected in the field, along with the return of Team Castaway’s Dan Margetta and Mad Motorsport’s Dean Strom.


Ev Kamikawa No. 5 Team Australia: Don’t forget I’m the only guy not names Lack or Wiedemann to win this race!

John Wiedemann No. 19 Angry Squirrel Speedsport: I needed that win at the Deckertring after a rough start at the Mini-Mile and I love the Lack Track.

Dan Margetta No. 3 Penske HO: This season is starting strong, I have ducked the Pete-down for two races!

LACK TRACK HISTORY (6 events, 2011 - Present)

Date Race Winner Event Name

10/8/2011 Ev Kamikawa West Bend Grand Prix

10/13/2012 Mike Lack West Bend Grand Prix

9/28/2013 John Wiedemann West Bend Grand Prix

10/4/2014 Mike Lack West Bend Grand Prix

10/1/2015 Mike Lack West Bend Grand Prix

9/29/2016 John Wiedemann West Bend Grand Prix