2019-20 Round 16

HO Indy 500 - South Shore Superspeedway - Saint Francis, WI

June 12, 2020

Round 16 of 16

2020 HO Indy 500

HO Indy 500 fast facts

Race date: Saturday, Jun 13

Track: South Shore Superspeedway, 2.5 mile oval

Race distance: 1000 laps

Entry List: HO Indy 500

Twitter: @indyslotcar

IndySlotCar Website: indyslotcar.com

2019 race winner: Mike Lack (No. 1 Angry Squirrel Speedsport)

2019 P1 Award winner: Joe Heitz (No. 20 Fuzzy’s w/A.S.S.), 8.315 seconds

Qualifying record: Joe Heitz, 8.315 seconds, 2019, Single Lap: Joe Heitz, 2.059 seconds, 2019

Race record: Mike Fitzlaff, 40 minutes, 26 seconds, 2018

YouTube Broadcast: IndySlotCar Channel

At-track schedule (all times local):

3:00 – Gates open

3:30 – Chassis distribution/Drivers meeting

3:35 – IndySlotCar Series Practice

4:00 – Qualifying for the Firestone P1 Award (single car, four lap total time qualifying in blue lane)

5:00 – Heat Races

5:45 – 27th running of the HO Indy 500

Race Notes:

· Three drivers enter the HO Indy 500 with a chance to win the Husarsbilt Cup, John Wiedemann holds a slim three point lead over six-time defending champion Mike Lack with Matt Hayek 36 points back. With double points available none of these gaps mean much as the points difference from first to second is 20 points, first to third 30, first fourth is 36. A chart is attached showing the points possibilities.

· A reminder that qualifying points are paid from first through ninth, starting with nine for first, eight for second, etc. As always only the top eight qualifiers advance to the heat races.

· Mike Lack became the first recipient of the Cianciola-Kristof Trophy with his second win of the HO Indy 500 and became the seventh two-time winner of the 500, the only other multiple winner, is Ev Kamikawa with four.

· In addition to the championship battle, there is a three way fight for fourth place in the championship, Joe Heitz is five points ahead of Pete Dorn, with Mike Kristof just 15 behind Heitz.

· John Wiedemann clinched the Road Course Championship with his second place finish at the Shrine Cup, edging Mike Lack by one point for the Andretti/Mansell Award!

HO INDY 500 HISTORY (26 events, 1994 - Present)

Date Race Winner Track

5/19/1994 Phil Cianciola Shrine Road Course

5/18/1995 John Shea Edgewood “The Edge” Superspeedway

5/18/1996 Dave Austin

4/26/1997 Ev Kamikawa

4/18/1998 Jim Kaehny

4/17/1999 Phil Marich

4/15/2000 Phil Cianciola

4/21/2001 Jim Kaehny

4/12/2002 Ev Kamikawa

4/13/2003 Larry Rotter

4/17/2004 Chris Spehert

4/9/2005 Dan Margetta

4/18/2006 Ev Kamikawa South Shore Superspeedway

4/14/2007 Jim Iverson

4/12/2008 Mark Walczak

4/18/2009 Chris Spehert

4/10/2010 Matt Hayek

4/9/2011 Matt Hayek

4/14/2012 Ev Kamikawa

4/13/2013 Mike Fitzlaff

4/5/2014 John Wiedemann

4/11/2015 Mike Kristof

4/9/2016 John Wiedemann

4/8/2017 Mike Lack

4/7/2018 Mike Fitzlaff

4/13/2019 Mike Lack

Most Wins – 4-Ev Kamikawa; 2-Mike Lack, Mike Fitzlaff, John Wiedemann, Matt Hayek, Chris Spehert, Jim Kaehny, Phil Cianciola