2018-19 Round 12

Maytag Rapids Grand Prix - Rapids International - Milwaukee, WI

Round 12 of 16

February 21, 2019

2019 Maytag Rapids Grand Prix

Lack Runs Rapids

2019 Maytag Rapids Grand Prix

(Rapids) -- The only street course on the IndySlotCar Series schedule is one of the most treacherous tracks the drivers have to navigate and much like its waterborne namesake, Mike Lack rode the rapids of the tight corners of the city and added to his championship lead with a win at the Maytag Rapids Grand Prix.

Lack not only took home the trophy for the win, but collected the Pole-to-Win prize money for scoring his third pole position enroute to the win, while Alter Ego Racing's Dean Strom started from the front row beside him.

The randomly assigned heats saw Pete Dorn and rookie Joe Heitz battle it out in the opening heat, eventually Dorn would hold on to take his fourth heat win of the season, while Heitz would land the "transfer" spot to the final as the rookie sensation continues to impress as he landed in his third "final four" in four career starts.

Hometown hero Ev Kamikawa kept the paying customers happy as he advanced to another final and would wind up second on the night, his fifth runner-up finish of the season and locking him into a solid third place in the Husarsbilt Cup points standings, 20 clear of Mike Kristof, who sits in fourth.

Kristof had a spectacular run in the third heat, and by spectacular, in the meltdown style. The #60 Michael Shank-It car was out front over pole sitter Mike Lack's #1 SealMaster car at the half way mark, but the handling and the poise went right out the window for Kristof and after numerous spinouts he not only lost the lead of the heat, but what seemed like a chance at the transfer spot also got up and left Rapids, settling for a disappointing seventh place, just ahead of Dean Strom who drove to the back from the front row starting spot in the same heat. Lack would easily advance.

In the final, Heitz's #20 Fuzzy's Vodka car was battling for the lead with veterans Lack and Kamikawa, however, ten laps in, the potential danger around every corner at Rapids jumped out and bit the rookie and he crashed out with a fourth place finish, elevating Dorn's #5 Black-Atom Racing Dallara-Honda on to the podium, any chance to fight for a higher step went away when a pick-up shoe broke and an extensive pit stop was required to repair it. Late in the race, Kamikawa thrilled the faithful as the #12 Verizon car started to track down the five time champion, but time ran out on the chase as he as on the lead lap as Lack took the checkered flag for his fourth win of the season and extends the streak of Angry Speed Sport winners to four, following Wiedemann's previous two and his own victory at Raven Raceway.

The series heads to Vegas for the Stardust 500 at the redesigned Stardust Speedway.


Maytag Rapids Grand Prix Fast Facts

Race date: Thursday, Feb 21

Track: Rapids International, 2.3 mile street course in Rapids

Race distance: 20 minutes

Twitter: @indyslotcar

IndySlotCar Website: indyslotcar.com

2018 race winner: Ev Kamikawa, (No. 27 Ferrari)

2018 P1 Award winner: Mike Fitzlaff (No. 34 Wellbox)

One-lap qualifying record: Dan Margetta, 5.569 seconds, 2016 (september)

Race record: Mike Lack, 175 laps, 2016 (January)

YouTube Broadcast: IndySlotCar Channel

At-track schedule (all times local):

6:30 – Driver introductions

7:00 – IndySlotCar Series Practice

7:25 – Qualifying for the IndySlotCar 25th Anniversary Hat P1 Award (group qualifying/ fastest single lap)

7:55 – Heat races

8:45 – Maytag Rapids Grand Prix (20 minutes)

Race Notes:

  • Maytag steps up as title sponsor of the Rapids Grand Prix after many years of Too Clean Laundry, we thank them for thier support

  • The Husarsbilt Cup Championship battle is as tight as ever after two straight wins by John Wiedemann, he sits just five points behind his Angry Squirrel Speedsport teammate Mike Lack

  • Hometown hero Ev Kamikawa hopes that he can repeat as winner and close the gap to the title himself, as he is in third place, 38 points behind Lack.

  • Weidemann’s win at Quarryfest Deslotmania was his 23rd moving him into a tie for 7th on the all time victories list, pulling equal with Hall of Famer Jim Kaehny and just three behind Larry Rotter. The race also moved him into a tie for eighth on the Final Four appearances list with 84.


Dan Margetta No. 13 Team FYA: Seems appropriate that the race is sponsored by Maytag, Lack will probably win and he’s as lonely as the Maytag repair man.

MAYTAG RAPIDS GRAND PRIX HISTORY (19 events, 1995 - Present)

Date Race Winner Event Name Track

4/13/1995 Dave Austin Rapids Grand Prix Rapids Raceway

4/11/1996 Dave Austin Rapids Grand Prix

12/3/1998 Dan Margetta Rapids Grand Prix Rapids Raceway Version 2

12/2/1999 Ev Kamikawa Rapids Grand Prix

12/7/2000 John Shea Rapids Grand Prix Rapids Raceway Version 3

11/29/2001 Phil Cianciola Rapids Grand Prix Rapids Raceway Version 4

2/1/2007 Ev Kamikawa WiJobs.com Grand Prix Rapids Raceway Version 5

1/31/2008 Mark Walczak Rapids Grand Prix Rapids International Version 6

2/5/2009 Mark Walczak Lia Sophia Grand Prix

9/17/2009 Mike Lack Lia Sophia Grand Prix

9/30/2010 Mark Walczak Lia Sophia Grand Prix

3/15/2012 Mark Walczak Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix Rapids International Version 7

9/20/2012 Mark Walczak Lia Sophia Grand Prix

1/17/2013 John Wiedemann Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix

1/16/2014 John Wiedemann Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix

1/22/2015 Mike Lack Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix Rapids International Version 8

1/21/2016 Mike Lack Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix

9/22/2016 Matt Hayek Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix (moved to Round 2)

2/1/2018 Ev Kamikawa Too Clean Laundry Grand Prix

Most Wins: Mark Walczak-5; Ev Kamikawa, Mike Lack-3; John Wiedemann, Dave Austin-2