2008-09 Round 9

Raven 250 - Raven Raceway

Round 9 of 16

January 8, 2009

Race Information

Walczak Repeats at Raven for 5th Win of Season

Mark Walczak collected his fifth win of the season, and extended his points lead as Larry Rotter who started from the pole and was leading at halfway, had some handeling issues allowing both Walczak and Ev Kamikawa to slip by for first and second place. Dan Margetta rounded out the final four, after complaining about lack of speed, and stopping during the final to get rice krispy treats for himself and some of the corner marshalls. Mike Fitzlaff who sits third in points, finished fifth on the night missing the transfer spot that was claimed by Kamikawa by one lap. This was the first time in four races that Fitzlaff was able to finish.


WHAT: Raven 250

WHERE: Brookfield, Wisconsin, Raven Raceway

WHEN: Thursday, January 8, 2009- 7pm


2006 CHAMPION: Mark Walczak

2006 POLESITTER: Mark Walczak

TRACK LAYOUT: Permanent Road Course

RACE LENGTH: 250 laps

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying - 2005, Larry Rotter, 57.227 Race – 2002, Larry Rotter, 21:470, Fast Lap – Ev Kamikawa in 2007, Mark Walczak in 2008, 4.336

ROUND: 9 of 16 in the 2008-2009 HO Champ Car World Series


Mark Walczak took the drama out of the HO Champ Car World Series race early on Thursday night as he drove to a clean sweep of the evening, winning the pole position, his heat race, and ultimately the Quizno's 250 by eight laps over fan favorite Larry Rotter. Walczak's performance marked a decided turning point in his HO Champ Car career as the lightning fast driver finally conquered a technical circuit on the tour and was never headed from the start. His third win of the season extended his lead in the battle for the Husarsbilt Cup championship. For Rotter, the race was his best effort of the season to find his way back to victory lane and many in attendance felt he could have given Walczak a run for his money save for a second half lane change that left him in the outside groove. Dan Margetta's car looked fast on the night but an extremely loose handling condition left him in a battle for the final podium spot with Jim Iverson, who had a car that handled but seemed down on horsepower. Ironically, Margetta barely edged Iverson by a nose for the third spot, reminiscent of the race finish from a year ago.

Mike Fitzlaff finished fifth and claimed the Hard Charger award while John Shea raced on his birthday and qualified fourth before handling issues in his heat race left him with a sixth place finish. Dean Strom had an uneventful night on a course he publicly state his dislike for and finished seventh while Mike Kristof and Tom Spehert tied in laps completed with Kristof taking the eighth spot by virtue of his qualifying position. Christmas race winner Ev Kamikawa had a disappointing night as handling issues left him in tenth place at the checkered flag ahead while Amy Butler and Matt Hayek rounded out the field in eleventh and twelfth place respectively.

THE RAVEN 250 HISTORY (8 events, 2000 - Present)

Year Race Winner

2001 John Shea

2002 Chad Sorce

2003 Phil Cianciola

2004 Larry Rotter

2005 Phil Cianciola

2006 Dan Margetta

2007 Dan Margetta

2008 Mark Walczak

2009 Mark Walczak

Top Stories

The second half of the season begins now!!! Mark Walczak holds a 62 point lead over the new second place driver Larry Rotter. Rotter moved into second after his win in the last race, the Christmas Classic. Rookie John Wiedemann collected his first career heat win and finals appearance. Mike Fitzlaff has had a bad streak finishes, collecting DNFs in the last three events, dropping him to third in the standings.

Stats Watch

-Larry Rotter’s win was his 24th career win, moving him into 4th place all time

-The pole by Dan Margetta was the 30th of his career, good for 2nd place all time

-Dan Margetta’s heat win was the 79th of his career, tying him for 1st all time

Larry Rotter’s heat win was the 59th of his career moving him into 3rd place all time

John Wiedemann collected his 1st career heat win, tying him for 13th all time

-The finals appearance by Dan Margetta was his 119th, good for 1st place all time

John Wiedemann’s finals appearance was the 1st of his career, tying him for 28th all time

-Matt Hayek has now moved into 26th all time on the laps completed list

-Mike Kristof moved into 10th all time on the starts list with 109

John Shea moved into a tie for 13th all time with 86 career starts

Andy Spehert moved into 19th all time with 47 careen starts

Matt Hayek moved in to 27th place, with 14 career starts

With his 9th career start John Wiedemann moved into a tie for 29th all time

Mike Lack moved into 31st all time with 8 career starts

-Mike Kristof moved into a tie for 6th place all time on the DNF list with 23

Chris Spehert and Mike Fitzlaff moved into a tie for 12th all time with 13 DNFs

Who’s Hot

-Mark Walczak has made the finals in 7 of the 8 events this year

-Dan Margetta has made the finals in the last three events

-Larry Rotter has made the finals in 5 of 8 events this year

-Mike Fitzlaff has made the finals in 5 of 8 events this year, he has also collected DNFs in his last 3 races