2019-20 Round 3

West Bend Grand Prix - Lack Track - West Bend, WI

October 10, 2019

Round 3 of 16

2019 West Bend Grand Prix

Stealing All The Nuts From The Squirrels Nest

(West Bend, WI) -- The West Bend Grand Prix had been run eight times before Thursday night and the list of winners is short, in fact only three drivers have won, the anomaly is the first, Ev Kamikawa took the victory, but after that, you start to see a trend, Mike Lack, John Wiedemann, Lack, Lack, Wiedemann, Lack, Wiedemann. So there was really no thought that that trend would change, it seemed like home town hero Mike Lack, coming off a win at Badger Raceway, was set up to take another win and continue the pattern of Angry Squirrel Speedsport drivers winning here. But instead, we were treated to a theft from right out of the Angry Squirrel's own nest as Matt Hayek swept every point possible with his second victory of the season and the first non-A.S.S. to win since Kamikawa in 2011.

Fast Facts

Race date: Thursday, Oct 10

Track: Lack Track, 1.8 mile road course in West Bend, WI

Race distance: 20 minutes

Twitter: @indyslotcar

IndySlotCar Website: indyslotcar.com

2018 race winner: John Wiedemann (No. 17 Angry Squirrel Speedsport)

2018 P1 Award winner: John Wiedemann (No. 17 Angry Squirrel Speedsport)

One-lap qualifying record: John Wiedemann, 3.791 seconds, 2018

Race record: John Wiedemann, 261 laps, 2018

YouTube Broadcast: IndySlotCar Channel

At-track schedule (all times local):

6:00 – Gates open

6:30 – Driver introductions

7:15 – Drivers Meeting

7:20 – IndySlotCar Series Practice

7:40 – Qualifying for the Chick-fil-A Brookfield P1 Award (group qualifying/ fastest single lap)

8:15 – Heat races

8:50 – West Bend Grand Prix (20 minutes)

Race Notes:

· John Wiedemann dominated last season’s running of the West Bend Grand Prix winning by seven laps and setting the record for most laps in the 20 minute final (261) and qualifying lap record (3.791 seconds).

· Weidemann and his Angry Squirrel Speedsport teammate Mike Lack have won the last seven WBGPs, only Ev Kamikawa is not an A.S.S. winner, in the inaugural event.

· Matt Hayek enters the WBGP with the points lead, following a win and a final in the first two rounds, Mike Lack is the only other driver to make both finals.

· Mike Lack equaled founder/Hall of Famer Phil Cianciola’s total for final four appearances with his win at the Choco Taco Fall Brawl, both now have 118 finals, third, behind Ev Kamikawa (163) and Dan Margetta (185).

LACK TRACK HISTORY (8 events, 2011 - Present)

Date Race Winner

10/8/2011 Ev Kamikawa

10/13/2012 Mike Lack

9/28/2013 John Wiedemann

10/4/2014 Mike Lack

10/1/2015 Mike Lack

9/29/2016 John Wiedemann

9/21/2017 Mike Lack

10/4/2018 John Wiedemann

Multiple wins: Mike Lack – 4. John Wiedemann – 3